The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Does a full fuel tank affect automobile gas mileage?  (Read 5250 times)

Offline Huxlly

• I am not a doctor. I has been working X-ray machin
    • View Profile
    • order delivery online!
Automobile gas mileage. What is the reduction in gas mileage if you keep your gas tank full versus limiting the tank to one-half full. I drive mostly in town and usually short trips. I'm a Senior at Farragut TN High School.
« Last Edit: 10/11/2009 11:00:36 by chris »

Offline Don_1

• Neilep Level Member
  • A stupid comment for every occasion.
    • View Profile
    • Knight Light Haulage
Re: Does a full fuel tank affect automobile gas mileage?
« Reply #1 on: 10/11/2009 09:11:47 »
Very little.

If your tank has a 75 ltr capacity and you do not allow it to fall below 1/4 full, the most weight saving you would make is around 50kgs.

But if you do this and ensure that your boot (trunk) is not full of unnecessary rubbish and do not engage in high acceleration, heavy braking and other bad motoring habits, well, as the saying goes, 'every little helps'.

Offline chris

• Neilep Level Member
  • The Naked Scientist
    • View Profile
    • The Naked Scientists
Does a full fuel tank affect automobile gas mileage?
« Reply #2 on: 10/11/2009 11:17:41 »
The bottom line is that the more weight your car transports the more energy it needs to move and hence the more fuel it needs to consume.

A full fuel tank can weigh as much as a person, so driving with the tank permanently full is like carrying an extra passenger everywhere. The weight of this fuel needs to be accelerated by the car every time you pull away or gain speed, using fuel. It also magnifies frictional losses through bearings and other moving parts because the load is higher.