The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: What programming languages come with my PC, or how can I download one?  (Read 11587 times)

DiscoverDave

Years ago (oh my!), I remember PC's coming with some version of BASIC that allowed me to program my computer.  I miss that option (at least I can no longer find BASIC on recent machines), so is there a programming language I can use, or how can I download BASIC?

Offline LeeE

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
    • Spatial
Assuming you're on MS windows, I think you can get MS VB/VC(++)/C#, for personal use, for no cost from the MS website - some of the windows users here should be able to confirm that.  Otherwise, you could look at something like Python:

http://www.python.org/download/

Offline latebind

• Hello World
    • View Profile
Java comes on most new PC's,but of course its just the runtime, you could always download the compiler kit from sun.com.

Java is really good, I'm a java developer and I'm loving it, I'm always in demand and I get paid well.

Offline RD

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
Years ago (oh my!), I remember PC's coming with some version of BASIC that allowed me to program my computer.  I miss that option (at least I can no longer find BASIC on recent machines), so is there a programming language I can use, or how can I download BASIC?

Microsoft offers a free BASIC ... http://www.microsoft.com/express/vb/

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Visual_Basic

Other free BASIC languages are available ... http://www.thefreecountry.com/compilers/basic.shtml

Including old-school ...
Vintage BASIC is an interpreter for a programming language of days gone by. A time when every home computer had a simple language called BASIC, and every kid who owned a computer learned it...
Vintage BASIC is open source software, provided under the BSD license. It will run on any platform that supports the GHC compiler, including Windows, MacOS X, and Linux.
http://www.vintage-basic.net/