The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: What is distilled water?  (Read 6077 times)

Tom

What is distilled water?
« on: 26/01/2010 14:30:02 »
Tom asked the Naked Scientists:

OK. I know it's used in car batteries and steam kettles, but what exactly is distilled water and why is it not advisable to drink? (that's what I've heard anyway.)

Thanks in advance

Tom Waugh
Switzerland

What do you think?
« Last Edit: 26/01/2010 14:30:02 by _system »

Offline chemrbhs

• First timers
    • View Profile
What is distilled water?
« Reply #1 on: 26/01/2010 23:35:32 »
Distilled water is just water that has been heated to vapor and the vapor is collected and condensed back to liquid. The idea is that any ions (salts, metals) will not be vaporized (made gas) and when the gas is collected it will only contain water H2O. As to not drinking it, I have no knowledge of reasons why that would be dangerous, after all it is really just water.
Also, nice to connect with CH, I am x-pat, originally from Zug, Oberageri.

Offline rosy

• Neilep Level Member
  • Chemistry
    • View Profile
What is distilled water?
« Reply #2 on: 27/01/2010 12:02:31 »
Distilled water is as described above.  I think the water sold for use in cars/irons is more often de-ionised, which is to say it's had (almost) all of the things previously dissolved in it removed by running it down a column which collects them up (like a glorified water-filter, really). I guess in principle such a process might be vulnerable to contamination, but I'd imagine that would damage the performance of the water in normal use (things would still get furred up).
Can't see why drinking distilled water would be a problem, except possibly in that some of the ions we get from normal tap water are important to health and not otherwise present in sufficient quantity in the diet (seems unlikely..).

Offline mabsj2

• View Profile
What is distilled water?
« Reply #3 on: 27/01/2010 13:16:28 »