The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Help Identifying Mineral  (Read 3742 times)

Offline dgb21

• First timers
    • View Profile
Help Identifying Mineral
« on: 02/05/2010 06:52:04 »
I found this site while looking to identify a mineral I found some time ago. To say I am an amateur in geology, is an overstatement. Anyways, I found this mineral, I believe while hiking in Connecticut. I have looked through several sites and can't seem to find a definite match. I even bought a couple of field guides with no luck. The streak (see pictures) is brown. It's nonmagnetic. And I would say the luster is metallic. I did a search on this site: newbielink:http://webmineral.com [nonactive]. And the best I could come up with was Aurorite, basically through this image ( newbielink:http://www.mindat.org/photo-190743.html [nonactive]). When I first saw it in my collection again, my first thought was mica, but I thought I would be able to pull off a few mica scales. Lastly, I couldn't find anything to support that Aurorite was found in Connecticut. Thanks for your help and feedback...this is a great site.

Dennis

Offline Geezer

• Neilep Level Member
  • "Vive la résistance!"
    • View Profile
Help Identifying Mineral
« Reply #1 on: 02/05/2010 08:25:21 »
It's obviously a lump of coal.

No doubt a bunch of sentimental old sedimentologists (like JimBob for example) will try to persuade you otherwise.

Offline JimBob

• Global Moderator
  • Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
Help Identifying Mineral
« Reply #2 on: 02/05/2010 23:15:06 »
It's obviously a lump of coal.

No doubt a bunch of sentimental old sedimentologists (like JimBob for example) will try to persuade you otherwise.

First, Welcome to the site! Then ...

well, you have heard from one of the Seven Dwarfs - Dopey - dgb21. Don't think poorly of use in spite of him.