The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Where do I start?  (Read 1707 times)

Offline PupilofE+H27

• First timers
    • View Profile
Where do I start?
« on: 01/06/2010 00:54:21 »
Hello All!

I'm new to physics and am taking on the daunting task of trying to teach myself. I'm started with classical mechanics, and after that I'm going to move on to relativity and quantum physics etc. As of now I'm using a prerecorded physics class from itunes. I'm trying to get a good base in theoretical physics and was wondering if anyone knew of great books or ideas for my quest?

Offline JP

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
Where do I start?
« Reply #1 on: 01/06/2010 05:31:04 »
There are a lot of books available.  What is your background with mathematics and physics?  How well do you want to learn the subject?  (Learning the basic concepts isn't too difficult.  Learning how the various models are developed and how to solve complex problems is much harder.)

Offline PupilofE+H27

• First timers
    • View Profile
Where do I start?
« Reply #2 on: 01/06/2010 12:15:37 »
Well i have a background in some normal calculus, and some Newtonian physics. I guess my goal in this endeavour is to gain a solid background in classical mechanics, relativity, quantum mechanics, string theory, etc, and then perhaps choose which one suites me the best and try and dive deeper into the subject matter.

Offline JP

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
Where do I start?
« Reply #3 on: 01/06/2010 13:37:28 »
Well i have a background in some normal calculus, and some Newtonian physics.

So you're probably familiar with basic integrals and derivatives?  You probably also want to learn vector calculus as well as differential equations (including Fourier analysis) if you don't know them.  That should help you with most classical mechanics and electromagnetism.  You might also want to pick up some linear algebra.