The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Why is sleep deprivation fatal?  (Read 19570 times)

Offline Shadec

• View Profile
Why is sleep deprivation fatal?
« on: 22/07/2010 10:30:02 »
Joel Hillman  asked the Naked Scientists:

Hello Naked Scientists,

I've heard humans can last approximately 10 days without any appreciable sleep, and though symptoms set in much earlier, it is at this point one dies. The way it was described to me was that the neurons begin regenerating, thus killing the person - I interpreted this as the neurons begin to reform over the top of themselves. I'm not a doctor yet, so I was wondering if you'd be able to help me with this: How does one die from lack of sleep? My idea before this was simply that the body is run down. What would happen to neurons in a situation where no sleep was achieved?

I had one last question: I've spent some time volunteering in an orphanage in India, and while I was there, for a period of about one week, I had virtually no sleep, due to noise disturbance. At the end of that week I began to hallucinate, which was very unpleasant. So, my question is this - how and why does lack of sleep cause hallucinations? And I'm not just randomly linking symptoms with stimuli, hallucination is (as far as I can find) a symptom of sleep deprivation.

Thanks so much
-J

What do you think?
« Last Edit: 22/07/2010 10:30:02 by _system »

Offline Make it Lady

• Neilep Level Member
  • Hands-on fun for everyone!
    • View Profile
« Reply #1 on: 22/07/2010 23:30:21 »
Neilep is the expert on this. You should ask him.

Offline neilep

• Withdrawnmist
  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 23/07/2010 00:50:36 »
Neilep is the expert on this. You should ask him.

If I was truly an expert then I guess I would sleep very well.