The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: How is a QAP Diagram used to identify rocks?  (Read 14381 times)

Offline endgamex

• First timers
    • View Profile
How is a QAP Diagram used to identify rocks?
« on: 21/10/2010 22:51:39 »
Hello there, I am studying for a Geoscience degree with the Open uni and at the moment I am learning how to plot a QAP diagram for plutonic igneous rocks but I am confused.  I understand how to get the three percentages but I don't understand how you can use them three percentages to identify the rock.  I've spent a while now trying to figure it out and it's probable very simple! If some kind soul can tell me how to do it but in very simple terms...perhaps step by step, I would be very grateful. 

Many thanks for any help.
« Last Edit: 06/12/2015 15:59:31 by chris »

Offline Bass

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
QAP Diagram?
« Reply #1 on: 22/10/2010 02:14:24 »
Wikipedia has a decent explanation of the QAPF diagram

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/QAPF_diagram

Q=quartz
A=alkalai feldspar
P=plagioclase feldspar
F=feldspathoids

If you ignore the rare feldspathoid rocks, you get the QAP diagram for most common igneous rocks.  Plot the percentages of feldspar, then move the plot to the percentage quartz in the rock and that point should give you the type of rock.  For example- 15% Q (quartz) + a mixture of 50% alkali feldspar and 50% plagioclase feldspar = quartz monsonite (plutonic) or quartz latite (volcanic).

Offline endgamex

• First timers
    • View Profile
QAP Diagram?
« Reply #2 on: 22/10/2010 19:42:34 »
Hi, thanks for that but I still don't understand how plotting 15% Q, 50% A and 50% P can land on the part of the triangle that says quartz monzonite.  Using your example I would do the following,