The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Can you charge a Leiden Jar using a plasma ball?  (Read 4146 times)

Offline Theodidactus

• First timers
    • View Profile
Can you charge a Leiden Jar using a plasma ball?
« on: 24/10/2010 16:46:49 »
hello guys!
This is my first post so I apologize if this is in the wrong place.

So: A little about myself:
I was a keen experimenter as a kid (electromagnetism especially) but found that I wasn't good enough at math to hack it as a big time physicist. So I majored in the history of science, and took a job in Taiwan teaching children science, history, and literature. In my spare time, I tinker with the laws of the universe, and occasionally turn up fun stuff to show my kids.

Over the last month, I've been tinkering with Leyden jars, but I can't seem to get mine to work. Now, I love problem solving, but there are some problems here that I can't fix...I want to know if I've hit a dead end before I further my experiments.

My Leiden jar is a simple affair: a glass apple juice bottle filled with salt water, with a metal rod through the top. The outside of the jar is surrounded by aluminum foil and electrical tape, with a ground wire running out. I've used my electric toolkit to determine that there is no electrical connection between the metal rod (on the inside of the jar) and the aluminum foil (on the outside).

I know that the jar is working properly, by which I mean, I know that if I run a negative charge through the top of the jar, the ground wire on the outside will throw sparks when connected to ground (or my finger). I'm running the charge into the jar top by means of a fist-sized plasma globe (my most treasured possession). The problem is that I cannot get the jar to hold any appreciable charge, nothing that will create a visible spark. Here are my questions: