The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Are wormholes real?  (Read 13773 times)

Joshua Speelman

Are wormholes real?
« on: 15/12/2010 13:30:03 »
Joshua Speelman  asked the Naked Scientists:

In science-fiction book and movies, the concept of faster than light travel is often portrayed by "space folding" or "wormholes".  

Are such things even hypothetically possible or are they just flights of fancy?

Joshua Speelman
Michigan, USA

What do you think?
« Last Edit: 15/12/2010 13:30:03 by _system »

Offline Bill S

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
Are wormholes real?
« Reply #1 on: 15/12/2010 14:56:38 »
Hi, Joshua,

I am not a scientist, but I have a sort of interest in time travel, so I have done a bit of reading on this subject.  This extract from my notes may be of interest.

So much has been written about wormholes, both in science fiction and in popular science books that it is very easy to lose sight of the fact that a wormhole is actually a hypothetical topological feature.  No-one has ever seen a wormhole, or even found physical evidence of one.  Furthermore, although there is good evidence for the curvature of spacetime, in various scenarios, there is no actual physical evidence for the large scale “folding” of space that would permit the use of wormholes as the sort of shortcuts, illustrated in numerous popular science books. 

Traversable wormholes are not ruled out by general relativity, and it could be that one of these might occur naturally.  However, by far the majority of the solutions of the equations of general relativity indicate that naturally occurring wormholes would be so short lived that their throats would snap shut before even light had time to pass through; so a theoretically traversable wormhole might be of absolutely no practical use, unless it could be modified in some way.