The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: calling all Geologists - feedback request  (Read 2366 times)

Offline rich99ard

• First timers
    • View Profile
calling all Geologists - feedback request
« on: 13/01/2011 18:26:44 »
Hi,

I work in the oilfield as an mwd/lwd consultant (over 16yrs) and am new to the boards.

A partner and I are developing a useful app for viewing logs via LAS files for the iphone, itouch and/or ipad. It is almost ready and I am on the hunt for ideas/requests/feedback.

If you have a moment, here is a link showing it's attributes etc

newbielink:http://www.geoplotapp.com/ [nonactive]

I appreciate all comments and suggestions  :)

Regards,

Rich W

Offline CliffordK

• Neilep Level Member
  • Site Moderator
    • View Profile
« Reply #1 on: 13/01/2011 23:46:45 »
Hopefully you're not planning on doing a "Hit&Run" on this site.

I'm having troubles following your plots because there are no legends...  although, of course, legends take up valuable space on the screen of a very small device.

I assume each application is somewhat different. 

At one job where I was at, the geologists were primarily concerned with bore holes...  While composition feedback would be useful in an e-mail...  one of their mobile tasks was to describe the bore holes...   color, type of dirt, etc...  at each layer.

Then the question is whether a phone, or an iPad like device would be the correct application as the phone is awfully small.

Offline rich99ard

• First timers
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 14/01/2011 20:08:21 »
Hi Clifford,

No plans on running.  Glad I came across this site - lots of good stuff here  :)

The app actually does have legends they aren't shown on the website - thanks for pointing this out

This is actually an all in one application in which you can 'load' and save different LAS files, create and view plots. (also email a pdf of the plot if you need). 
The plots you create and configure are saved in a database