The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Will we eventually lose the moon?  (Read 6237 times)

Vector169

Will we eventually lose the moon?
« on: 20/01/2011 01:30:04 »
Vector169 asked the Naked Scientists:

Hi gang! 

Love you all and love the show

I am a mechanical engineer in Fort Wayne Indiana.  I just recently (a few months back) found your show on Itunes and I have raced back as far as Itunes would let me go in episodes and am feverishly trying to catch up.

I am in your section now with the year of astronomy and have a question that I have wondered about.  I heard years ago on a tv show that reflectors on the moon and lasers have shown that the moon is moving away from the Earth.  My question is in multiple parts.

1) Will we eventually loose the moon, or is the rate at which it is moving away decelerating.
2) If we loose the moon, will it enter a Earth crossing orbit or will it spiral towards the inner solar system?

If you have already answered this than I look forward to hearing it when I get to that episode. 

Thanks Naked Scientists!

What do you think?
« Last Edit: 20/01/2011 01:30:04 by _system »

Offline Soul Surfer

• Neilep Level Member
  • keep banging the rocks together
    • View Profile
    • ian kimber's web workspace
« Reply #1 on: 20/01/2011 11:23:18 »
The moon is moving away from us because it is gaining orbital energy from the tidal friction of the rotating earth. This is slowing down the earths rotatation eventually this will stop when the earth and moon always face each other. However the sun will go red giant before this happens.

Offline graham.d

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 20/01/2011 13:55:02 »
SS, do you mean "when the earth and moon always face each other"? I would say they do that now. One side of the moon always faces the earth. Do you mean when the moon is also fixed over one point on the earth's surface?

Offline Soul Surfer

• Neilep Level Member