The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Will we achieve Cold Fusion?  (Read 4868 times)

Offline QuantumClue

• View Profile

Offline JP

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
Will we achieve Cold Fusion?
« Reply #1 on: 21/01/2011 05:36:36 »
They'll try to skeptically verify it.  Cold fusion kind of imploded as a field because none of the results have been independently verifiable...

Offline CliffordK

• Neilep Level Member
  • Site Moderator
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 21/01/2011 08:51:12 »
Thank God I studied a little Italian in college.   ;D

And they were speaking very very slowly in the film.  I've never heard Italians speak slowly   [xx(]

http://www.journal-of-nuclear-physics.com/?p=360

It isn't going to be "released" in the near future.  At some point in the film, they said
We are at the "Ford T"
We need to arrive at the "Formula 1".

One gets sceptical about a "Black Box" discovery.  And, apparently the patent office picked up on that and so far has not accepted the patent application.  Obviously there would be problems if someone, say patents something that they never actually created.  Then, if someone later actually found "cold fusion", then there would be a lot of hot water going around.

In the second film, one of the physicists complained that he had brought a counter that would not only measure the gamma counts, but actually measure the electron volt spectrum of the so called positron --> gamma emissions.  However, he was not allowed to measure the gamma emission spectra as it might have told some "secrets" of how the device works.  Does that smell like a rat?

In the third film, one of the questions was the actual copper/nickel isotope inputs/outputs, and the inventors couldn't specify those.