The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: If a photon is travelling at the speed of light, does time not exist for it?  (Read 23700 times)

Offline CD13

• View Profile
I'm a biological scientist, so excuse the basic nature of these questions:

As a photon travels at the speed of light in a vacuum, time must be non-existent then, surely? Thus it has no past or future, only the present?

If a photon slows when it goes through a material, where does the lost energy go? And when it speeds up, where does the extra energy come from?

Do tachyons exist? If so, how could they be detected?

Offline yor_on

• Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • (Ah, yes:) *a table is always good to hide under*
    • View Profile
A photon have no other 'speed' than light. That's why I wonder, just like you I guess:) What they really are. And they do exchange 'energy' when getting annihilated, and momentum too. So in a piece of matter they get 'slowed down' due to their 'annihilation' and subsequent 'resurrection' inside the matter. As for where the 'lost energy' goes? Depends on what you think 'energy' consists of.

Myself I do trust in a universe of equilibrium. That means that whatever happens inside it doesn't really take anything 'away'. So in that motto there is no 'energy' lost, only a 'interaction' taking part expressing itself into a transformation, or several rather when discussing that photon 'propagating'.
« Last Edit: 21/01/2011 16:31:09 by yor_on »

Offline Ron Hughes

• View Profile
From the photon's frame of reference, when it is created at A it instantly appears at B no matter how far away from A. See,  http://www.thenakedscientists.com/forum/index.php?topic=34333.0;topicseen

Offline yor_on

• View Profile
Hmm, time and photons :)
Should have answered that one too.