The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Do I need antivirus ?  (Read 6667 times)

Offline syhprum

  • Neilep Level Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 3818
  • Thanked: 19 times
    • View Profile
Do I need antivirus ?
« on: 26/02/2011 20:11:00 »
With windows 7 ultimate there is included a virtual XP program that enables you to run old programs that are not compatible with windows 7.
When I move to this it keeps bleeping that it has no antivirus program so I load AGV just to keep it quiet, is this really necessary.


 

Offline RD

  • Neilep Level Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 8126
  • Thanked: 53 times
    • View Profile
Do I need antivirus ?
« Reply #1 on: 26/02/2011 21:28:34 »
Apparently you do ...

Quote
XP Mode is essentially a separate logical computer and thus doesnít share the Windows 7 hostís security settings, security software ...

Ensure that the appropriate anti-virus/anti-malware software is installed on XP in the VM.
 Local security software on the host machine does not protect it.
http://www.windowsecurity.com/articles/Windows-7-XP-Mode-What-Security-Implications.html
 

Offline syhprum

  • Neilep Level Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 3818
  • Thanked: 19 times
    • View Profile
Do I need antivirus ?
« Reply #2 on: 04/03/2011 10:00:23 »
Thank for the advice and link, I rather thought it was needed but it is nice to get confirmation.
 

Offline SeanB

  • Neilep Level Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 1118
  • Thanked: 3 times
    • View Profile
Do I need antivirus ?
« Reply #3 on: 04/03/2011 15:09:04 »
Rather than AVG just install Microsoft's Security Essentials, available free from Microsoft website. A free and relatively lightweight tool that is updated regularly by Windows Update.
 

Offline syhprum

  • Neilep Level Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 3818
  • Thanked: 19 times
    • View Profile
Do I need antivirus ?
« Reply #4 on: 05/03/2011 09:58:35 »
I don't think it is compatable with XP
 

Offline RD

  • Neilep Level Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 8126
  • Thanked: 53 times
    • View Profile
Do I need antivirus ?
« Reply #5 on: 05/03/2011 16:55:08 »
According to Microsoft, MSSE is compatible with XP mode ...

Quote
Microsoft Security Essentials also supports Windows XP Mode in Windows 7.
http://www.microsoft.com/security_essentials/resources.aspx?mkt=en-gb&s=1#mainNav

I second SeanB's suggestion of MSSE: it's much lighter on resources than other antivirus I've used, [ *cough* McAfee
« Last Edit: 05/03/2011 17:42:30 by RD »
 

Offline syhprum

  • Neilep Level Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 3818
  • Thanked: 19 times
    • View Profile
Do I need antivirus ?
« Reply #6 on: 12/03/2011 16:21:44 »
Tried it, it is
 

Offline harrymonk

  • First timers
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Do I need antivirus ?
« Reply #7 on: 19/06/2011 18:31:41 »
Avast is totally free and is excellent. Stops everything and updates every time you boot up. Why pay? :D
 

Offline CliffordK

  • Neilep Level Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 6321
  • Thanked: 3 times
  • Site Moderator
    • View Profile
Do I need antivirus ?
« Reply #8 on: 20/06/2011 05:39:49 »
The use of an antivirus really depends on your actions and web habits.

While I like to try new things, I am also very skeptical about unknown web add-ins.  However, the use of JAVA for web apps still terrifies me.

If you are not interacting with the web in compatibility mode, then an antivirus may not be necessary at all, especially if your regular antivirus is capable of scanning all the partitions including the compatibility partitions.
 

The Naked Scientists Forum

Do I need antivirus ?
« Reply #8 on: 20/06/2011 05:39:49 »

 

SMF 2.0.10 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
SMFAds for Free Forums