The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: A new theory of Martial Arts, or maybe eastern philosophy....  (Read 3116 times)

Offline Jolly- Joliver

• View Profile
I have been debating about wether or not I should post this but actually I think it's a positive idea overall.

As a teenager I studied Martial Arts, as a child watching films like American Ninja, Karate kid, no retreat no surrender, the turtles :-)

and went to a few different clubs and tried quiet a few styles at around the age of 11 I was thinking about starting a Martial Arts club, so I kinda had this idea from an earily age really which bit by bit has advanced over the years.

In my early twenties I studied J.K.D, which brought me to an initial idea about a club where each member studies a different system and then each week one of the members taught the class, in this way you each learn off each other.

On having a religious experience, I considered the implications of Martial Arts as a system in relation to a nonviolent out look on life, and felt that maybe it would be possible to develop a system where all you did was evade, trap, throw, hold, block yet never hit or sort to hurt, simply to resolve as softy as possible any psyical conflict.

So combining the things I learnt, and ideas I had, and embracing much of what I thought was Bruce Lees philosophy when I studied J.K.D felt that maybe it would be possible to combine all of the block, traps and throws from all the different systems much as JDK does but with this new attention to soft resolution.

To train avoidance, the opponent would have to throw punches, people studying this would still learn to punch and kick yet only for the benefits of training others to avoid them.

And that was where I was at, and then I watched this: Bruce Lee lost interview,

Part one:   

Part two:   
feature=related

Part three:
feature=related