The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Electric car  (Read 5479 times)

Offline hardball

• First timers
    • View Profile
Electric car
« on: 29/03/2006 04:01:52 »
I am by no means an engineer, so this might be a trivial question, but would it be possible to build a practical car that was driven by an electric motor turning the front wheels, while the rear wheels spun a generator that would recharge the battery?

Offline neilep

• Withdrawnmist
  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
    • View Profile
Re: Electric car
« Reply #1 on: 29/03/2006 04:12:05 »
Hi Brian,

welcome to the site.

Hybrids exist as practical cars..Toyota and Honda already have had these vehicles on the market for quite some time.

As to electric only cars, if there isn't one already I am sure there will be soon....*thinks for a sec*....I think there is y'know !....

..lets wait and see what the experts say.

...or do you mean an electric car that YOU could build yourself ?...like a kitcar for instance ?
« Last Edit: 29/03/2006 04:12:50 by neilep »

Offline ukmicky

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
    • http://www.space-talk.com/
« Reply #2 on: 29/03/2006 04:41:40 »
I'm also not an expert but a generator and an electric motor are basically the same thing, spin an electric motor by hand and it will produce a current. I believe they both work the same way, just the other way round

If your thinking can i produce free energy by having the rear wheel generator charging a battery while the same battery is at the same time powering  a spinning a motor on the front wheels then no.