The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: How do you know what specific field in Geology you should specialize?  (Read 13998 times)

Offline olivine

• First timers
    • View Profile
Hi, I'm new here. I'm 22 yrs. old and currently on my 2nd year as a Geology graduate student. I took up BS Chemistry as my undergraduate course so I can say that I'm still "new" in the field of Geology. As of the present, I currently work as a research assistant in the Micropaleontology Laboratory here in the University. But then, I can say that I got this job because I needed the salary for my study. Right now, I am having doubts as to pursuing a career in the field of Micropaleontology since I can say that I study it because it's my work and not because it's my interest. I know that there are lots of other interesting fields in geology. But since I do not have much experience in other fields, I don't know which one should I choose. I should start my thesis soon and choosing a field of interest is of great importance. So I was wondering how did you end up with your current field in geology? Was it by chance or was it what you wanted ever since? I'd really like to hear your stories and hopefully it would help me figure out my interest. I will also very much appreciate your advices regarding my dilemma. Thanks in advance! :)

Offline JimBob

• Global Moderator
  • Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
Welcome Oiivne !!!

I sympathize with you. I could never be a bug picker. I used a cheap binocular microscope to pick what we thought at the time were multituberculate (an extinct early mammal) teeth out of river sand from the interior of Australia. I did that every day for 8 hours all week long. I have work bifocal glasses ever since.

Why did you change to geology from chemistry? What was it about geology that got your attention? Is there a lab associated with a class you have taken that was more interesting than another? What courses did you enjoy the most?