The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Gold separation in swirling water  (Read 5757 times)

Offline Sam McCord

• First timers
    • View Profile
Gold separation in swirling water
« on: 12/10/2011 19:10:34 »
I am an amateur prospector. Recently I viewed two videos on separating gold from sand and black sand and other heavy minerals. In a nut shell, one had a gold pan on a flat surface with about 2 inches of water. He pushed all the material to the outer edge of the bottom of the pan and started to stir the water slowly clockwise. As he was stirring he would move the stirring finger closer to the center. As this was done, the lighter material would slowly move to the center leaving the gold particles at the outer edge. This had to be done several times, but eventually all of lighter material was in a small pile in the middle of the pan and the gold was at the edge. The other video showed a guy with a couple of 5 gal buckets. They would be nested inside each other. The upper bucket had a 2'' hole in the center bottom, which had a pipe cap in it, creating a small cup if you will in the bottom of the bucket. The upper bucket would be filled with water too within about 3 inches of the top. He would take a stout stick and start to stir the water quite swiftly and then pour the gold bearing sand in the water. He would pour the sand in near the bucket side walls. He would then stir more and let it settle some. Then he would use the stick to push the material around on the bottom and start to stir again very rapidly. This carried on for about 3 to 4 cycles of mixing and stirring. Ultimately, he would reach into the upper bucket and pull up the pipe cap, which is full of material, allowing all the water to drain into the lower bucket. The claim is that if there is any gold in this sand it will all be in this cap. He offers the challenge that if anyone doesn't believe it, to just re-do the process with the material left over and see if there is any go