The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Brain Preservation, and the falsehood of human "immortality"  (Read 3021 times)

Offline ArtificialUnintelligence

• First timers
    • View Profile
Introduction

Hello. It is my first time on these forums, so please bear with me. But I needed to clear a nagging topic from my head.

I am very interested in the sciences of brain mapping, human consciousness and artificial intelligence. It was thus that I came across a certain site while
perusing the internet a few days ago.

The site in question is that of the Brain Preservation Foundation ( newbielink:http://www.brainpreservation.org/index.php [nonactive]), an organisation that is dedicated to the survival of the human brain beyond the death of other organs.
It has some very interesting theories, all of which revolve around the possibility of mapping out the brain's synaptic connections. This is no small feat; to preserve these important connections in the human brain is to theoretically preserve all the memories and the full identity of the person in possession of said brain.

It is a very well constructed site, with the organisation even going so far as to construct some rudimentary ethics and legal guidelines for a future where one might choose to have their brain preserved for its continued survival. However, it has raised several disturbing issues within my head.

My Theories on the Falsehood of Human Immortality

First of all, let us assume that in one scenario "brain preservation" encompasses the successful placement into stasis of the whole human brain, or best case, their entire body. This is not as bad as the following speculations; with the entire brain intact and placed into storage, one would theoretically be able to be "revived" with a fully operational consciousness. However, putting aside the possible issues of adapting to life without a body, an excerpt from the site's guidelines sections raises my concerns -