The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Are we innately disgusted by the smell of faeces?  (Read 4016 times)

Rafal Zar

Rafal Zar  asked the Naked Scientists:

Hey

I am a MA's Fine Art student. Im doing my research on faeces in fine arts but I'm interested in our perception of faeces in general from scientific point of view. I know there are some cultural constructs which differ from culture to culture but I assume all people across the world cringe when they smell faeces. How our nose recognise smells? Do we receive poop smell as a kind of a threat. Is it innate behaviour or are we taught that flowers smell nice and smell of dirt is wrong?

Thank you

Kind regards

Rafal Zar

What do you think?
« Last Edit: 27/11/2011 23:01:02 by _system »

Offline Karen W.

• Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • "come fly with me"
    • View Profile
Are we innately disgusted by the smell of faeces?
« Reply #1 on: 28/11/2011 08:12:51 »
I am no scientist but I think animal instinct alone taught us to use our noses for tracking and generally thats done by animals through excrement etc.. as territorial markings and such.. as educated modern person Its not food. or fresh breeze.. or scented sweet smelling flower.. so we don't like it.. I even might think its some kind of primal self preservation kind of thing also.. not wanting to defecate in your immediate area..perhaps the unknown since that its not good and perhaps to simply keeping us humans from eating our own stools... Gag me with a spoon....which would be dangerous in  itself for health reasons. Perhaps we associate the smell as bad simply because it does smell bad and each person smells different... Just a thought or two....

Offline CZARCAR

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 28/11/2011 12:35:53 »
funny how dogs , with superior smell, love it

Offline Supercryptid

• View Profile
    • http://www.angelfire.com/sc2/Trunko
« Reply #3 on: 29/11/2011 04:43:19 »