The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Why the sudden influx of starfish?  (Read 7199 times)

Offline thedoc

• Forum Admin
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
Why the sudden influx of starfish?
« on: 29/04/2012 11:53:01 »
Catherinecoates@blueyonder.co.uk asked the Naked Scientists:

Hi there,

Please can u help iam currently on holiday in east Sussex at pevensey bay, the beach is covered in starfish they are varying in size from 5" across to some really large ones about 12" across, I have been coming here for 40 yrs and never seen anything like this I have taken some photos not sure how to attach them to this email as its from my iphone am hoping you can help answer my query.

Thank you

Kate Coates

What do you think?
« Last Edit: 29/04/2012 11:53:01 by _system »

Offline Don_1

• Neilep Level Member
  • A stupid comment for every occasion.
    • View Profile
    • Knight Light Haulage
Re: Why the sudden influx of starfish?
« Reply #1 on: 06/05/2012 01:32:15 »
The chances are you are seeing Asterias rubens, the Common Starfish. These North Atlantic starfish are present in huge numbers around the British coast. Their population can be boosted given the right conditions, such calm seas, slightly increased sea temperatures, good food supply and lower predation of the larvae. Over fishing of plankton feeders such as Herring would give the young a better chance of survival, so the following year, there would be greater numbers of mature starfish to breed. Such a population explosion would probably occur over a two year period. Breeding time is in the spring, and if there is a good food supply, the Asterias rubens can grow quite quickly.