The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Would this make a good material for spectacles?  (Read 2091 times)

Offline thedoc

• Forum Admin
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
Would this make a good material for spectacles?
« on: 29/04/2012 12:21:01 »
Khanyisa Weeder  asked the Naked Scientists:

Good day Chris,

My name is Khanyisa and I am a Surface Design student currently studying at Cape Peninsula University of Technology in Cape Town, South Africa. At the moment, we are busy with a project where we have to design a pair of spectacles using a different material that is on the market.

My lecturer had told me about you, she said you are a genius and the most clever man in the world. When I heard this, I was so excited to hear from you, want to know if you will be able to answer a question for me:

For my spectacles, I would like to use the light technology called Elumin8. I've done some of my own research, but I would like to know if it possible to use this material.
Considering:
- How does one maintain it?
-How is it charged? and any other factors that I should consider when designing my spectacles.

I look forward to hearing from you.
Thank you for your time,
Khanyisa

What do you think?
« Last Edit: 29/04/2012 12:21:01 by _system »

Offline Sprool

• View Profile
Re: Would this make a good material for spectacles?
« Reply #1 on: 30/04/2012 12:16:09 »
this company makes photovoltaic cells and LED's which i presume are embedded into acrylic resin, hardly new material. Do you want to make your spectacles glow with LED light or collect energy from the sun (if so, why?) ior do you want to use the acrylic resin to make the lenses, if so you need to consider clarity, refractive index, ease of moulding and grinding, impact resistance, cost.

Offline CliffordK

• Neilep Level Member
  • Site Moderator
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 30/04/2012 15:42:52 »
Or,