The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Can Exoskeleton Suits lead to a treatment for Cerebral Palsy?  (Read 2527 times)

Offline BRIGHT_Foundation

• First timers
    • View Profile
Hi everyone,

I am an engineer, a father of a child with CP and the founder of the BRIGHT Foundation. After 11 years of researching and trying most treatments (both mainstream and alternative), I have come to the conclusion that perhaps the most effective approach to treatment for kids with CP will be with intelligent exoskeleton suits that will allow for 24x7 '"training".

I have outlined my idea at our website in the following article: newbielink:http://brightfoundation.org/exoskeleton-suits-for-cerebral-palsy-the-idea/ [nonactive]

Basically, the idea is that the brain is plastic and with extensive training, even brain damage that causes Cerebral Palsy can be recovered by recruiting other non-damaged areas of the brain to take over for the damaged areas.

We know this method of "recovery" happens in some patients, but most patients don't improve much. The reason is that re-training the brain is not easy and takes thousands or perhaps hundreds of thousands of interactions.

An intelligent exoskeleton can provide an ideal environment for effective re-training of the brain. For example,

1.) Standard PT and fails because the child is demotivated by failure. An intelligent exoskeleton will allow 100% success and thus motivate the child to do more training.
2.) Standard PT & OT fails because the intensity of training is minimal. Both for economic and practical reasons, PT and OT can only occur for a few hours each week. This is not intensive enough training to re-train the brain. An intelligent exoskeleton will allow virtually 24x7 training if desired. My guess is once the kids are able to move independently, they will want to keep the suit on pretty much all the time.