The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: How can I prevent my brass cartridge casings from tarnishing?  (Read 20578 times)

Offline daddyseal

• First timers
    • View Profile
I am not a Metallurist, Engineer, or scientist of any kind.
I am a target shooter and amateur ammo reloader, using spent brass cases to reload into bullets for my personal use at the range.
Corrosion is not my problem, but I'd like to prevent tarnishing.

I use stainless steel pin media to tumble clean my empty brass cases before reloading them. That process takes the brass down to bare metal. And I'm finding my brass tarnishes noticeably in only a couple of days...even in my climate controlled house. I am trying to be a competition shooter, and need to reload and use about a 1,000 rounds a month...between practicing and during the competition!

So, my question is: Is there a product (a liquid polymer?) available to the general public that I can coat my brass in, other than a wax, which cause problems when proceed thru my reloading equipment....that will coat my brass with a thin film to keep moist air from tarnishing them?

My thought has been a liquid car detailing spray, which does not contain wax.
My problem is finding anything that won't be deleterious or weaken the wall thickness of .0062
(such as Armor All type products, which I've heard can make brass brittle)
I'm wonder if this product will do what I need...
newbielink:http://www.detailedimage.com/Blackfire-M32/Deep-Gloss-Spray-with-Polycharger-P272/?landing_id=29&utm_source=Google-Product-Search-PLA&utm_medium=cpc&gclid=CLjquJa3tLACFalgTAod8nbNwA [nonactive]

Your thoughts will be Greatly Appreciated ~!
« Last Edit: 05/06/2012 19:32:17 by daddyseal »

Offline RD

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
« Last Edit: 05/06/2012 16:48:42 by RD »

Offline daddyseal

• First timers
    • View Profile
Thank you for your interest,
Ballistal is a great firearm cleaner and lube.