The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: How do antimicrobials target pathogens?  (Read 2347 times)

Offline thedoc

• Forum Admin
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
How do antimicrobials target pathogens?
« on: 18/07/2012 16:30:01 »
Natalie Yelovick asked the Naked Scientists:

My name is Natalie Yelovick. I am the third year student of the Chemistry Faculty of Moscow State University.

I've been listening to TNS podcasts since 2008 and it still does really helps me to relax and fill brains with useful stuff one at the same time. So there is a BIG-BIG "THANK YOU!" to all of you making such a great project. Keep it up!

Now there is one question I hope you can help me with.

Recently, together with my friend, we found the scientific report about
bacteria-killing "ninja polymers" (http://www.gizmag.com/ibm-ninja-polymers/23199/).

This is amaizing how simple the solution to a big problem can be.

But the thing we can't understand is how does the polymer "searches"
bad bacteria? Does it's potential differs dramatically compared to normall cells?

There is unfortunately no references to scientific articles and even
no names in the report. If it does not bother you could you please help us to find some information on related articles.

Thank you!

Best Regards,
Natalie.

What do you think?
« Last Edit: 18/07/2012 16:30:01 by _system »

Offline antibioticpharm

• First timers
    • View Profile
Re: How do antimicrobials target pathogens?
« Reply #1 on: 18/07/2012 17:56:02 »
Whilst I know nothing of 'ninja polymers' there are other antimicrobials that target cell membranes - daptomycin for example.  See newbielink:http://aac.asm.org/content/35/11/2282 [nonactive]

Offline cheryl j

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 28/07/2012 02:52:43 »