The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: How can hematopoietic stem cells become cancerous if their p53 gene is intact?  (Read 2018 times)

Offline rebpalma

• First timers
    • View Profile
Hi! First-time poster here. I'm a mathematician with a keen interest in biology and cancer research. I'm studying biology at home, as I work and I can't compatibilize my schedule with that of a university student. But I have many questions and no one to ask them to. Could you please help me? Is this the place to do this?

My first question is regarding Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia (of B-cells) although it may apply to other types of cancer. In CLL, patients may or may not show a deletion of the p53 gene. I've read that the p53 gene produces the p53 protein, which acts as a quality controller for the right replication of cells. More specifically, I believe the p53 protein checks that the duplication of the DNA has been made correctly after the synthesis subphase of the interphase.

My question is, how is it possible that patients with functioning p53 proteins in their B-cells ever developed leukemia? Shouldn't have the p53 proteins forced all the cancerous cells to commit suicide?

Thank you very much in advance for your answers!

Offline schneebfloob

• View Profile