The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Spacetime - reality, model, or fabrication? What is it exactly....  (Read 9443 times)

Offline old guy

• View Profile
the big bang theory is a good one in all , but how does something just explode and create a universe?
what was it that exploded?
where did it come from?
whats it made of?
what is the fabric of space made of?
These are such good questions! I'm suprized the discussion has not taken serious flight.
Can we not assume that "what exploded" were the raw materials for what cooled down and evolved into today's observable (and beyond) cosmos?

"Where did it come from?" is my favorite cosmological question... and I've been an amateur cosmologist for a long time.
Positing "something out of nothing" is no different than the "creationist" belief that "god' pulled it all out of his magic hat as "creator," i.e., that it just magically appeared ( sans the "deity" as an agent for non-religious cosmologists.)

My best (speculative) answer is the oscillating, "Bang/Crunch" model. We just need to find enough of the "missing matter" to reverse the expansion... eventually... if it ever quits accelerating in rate of expansion and slows down.
Anyway, we are finding more ordinary matter all the time, not even counting whatever "dark matter" is supposed to be.

So I think the Bang/Crunch model is the only one which can explain where it all came from... an eternally existing cycle with no beginning or ending. Entropy is not a factor on cosmic scale, as nothing is created or destroyed. It just gets re-distributed... way out... but eventually comes back for another Bang.