The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Habitable planets in a binary system? 2 Solar Systems next to each other?  (Read 1959 times)

Offline DeaconX

• First timers
    • View Profile
First off, hello and thank you to anyone who takes the time to look at my questions and cares to help me understand a few things.

I'm a writer and I'm currently working on something that is certainly science fiction/fantasy, but I'd still love to know if the following circumstances can occur.

Circumstance #1 : Binary star system with several (3-5) habitable worlds in the goldilocks zone.

How would these planets safely orbit the binary stars? What effects might they be susceptible to? What might life actually be like?

Circumstance #2 : 2 solar systems very close to another, practically 'touching' each other at the heliopause region.

What is the SAFEST distance between two solar systems with multiple planets in their respective goldilocks zones?

For instance, if we took our our solar system (for example) and put one much like it right on the edge of our heliopause, could the two systems exist without affecting one another for a very long period of time? Would solar winds from each star affect the other system?

I apologize if my questions are fairly absurd - it's why I'm here ;)

Thank you kindly!
« Last Edit: 22/04/2013 12:09:03 by DeaconX »

Offline yor_on

• Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • (Ah, yes:) *a table is always good to hide under*
    • View Profile
How could anything rest if there was sunlight on 24/7? Think it would do strange things to fauna and flora myself (as a global warming effect too. Probably there would be some balance though, incoming outgoing radiation? but if it is in a equilibrium?).  And number one http://imagine.gsfc.nasa.gov/docs/ask_astro/answers/980122c.html and http://burtleburtle.net/bob/physics/binary.html for imagining :) As for the safest distance? Don't know. Depends on (types of) orbits etc.