The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: What is the basis of ADHD treatment?  (Read 1001 times)

Offline thedoc

• Forum Admin
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
What is the basis of ADHD treatment?
« on: 13/08/2013 10:30:02 »
Hope S Guajardo Guajardo  asked the Naked Scientists:
I enjoyed your podcast on ADHD, but have some differences of opinion. I've been a teacher for seventeen years, have had three traumatic brain injuries which altered my cognition and behavior, and am a licensed (though not practicing) practitioner of neurofeedback.

When the question of food arose, the answer was rather evasive, with mere lip service given to omega 3 fatty acids but no recommendation that they be tried. I think you might recommend that parents or doctors give them a try since there are many benefits to omega 3's and few if any reasons not to try them. Also, wildly fluctuating blood sugar levels can bring on seizure activities. If that is true, don't you think that sugar could be one of the culprits? Have you seen what children eat? You might be horrified. Also, artificial colors and flavors have been implicated in behavior problems, as have food sensitivities to such things as gluten, casein, lactose, etc. Have you seen what is in the food that children consume?