The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Modafinil  (Read 9441 times)

Offline vweaver

• First timers
    • View Profile
Modafinil
« on: 13/11/2003 13:46:43 »
I was surfing and came across Dr. Danielle Turner's articles
> on Modafinil.  I am a 49 year old man who was
> diagnosed with narcolepsy 6 years ago.  I was
> prescribed Ritalin first and it seemed to work to
> keep me awake during the day.  Without the
> medication I can't stay awake to drive or work.
> Three years ago my medication was changed to
> Providgil and Dexedrine.  It works and I am being
> closely monitored to insure I don't become addicted.
>  The problem is the Ritalin, Providgil and/or the
> Dexedrine has affected my short term memory.  I am
> having trouble at work and home functioning at a
> normal level.  I am unable to remember things for
> any length of time.  Within seconds of thinking of
> something I am wondering what I was thinking about.
> I am a professional and at times I can't even
> remember things I should know for my work.
>
> I am being seen by a Psychologist for anxiety,
> stress and depression possibly brought on by a three
> year battle with health issues (back and neck) that
> has led to two surgeries.  I have constant headaches
> and have seen four different kinds of Doctors in the
> past 6 months.
>
> I am sorry to take your time with all the history,
> but now that you know a little about me, How can I
> be in your study?  How can I obtain the drug
> Modafinil?  Can my Physician prescribe it?
> I realize you are very busy.  Please return my email
> and maybe provide some answers.  I am in North
> Carolina.
>
> Thanks
> Vic

Vic

Offline Donnah

• Ma-Donnah
  • Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
Re: Modafinil
« Reply #1 on: 13/11/2003 17:38:46 »