The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: The nature/science of learning a skill ?  (Read 5942 times)

Offline neilep

• Withdrawnmist
  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
    • View Profile
The nature/science of learning a skill ?
« on: 06/08/2006 22:41:47 »
Say you have two identical islands.

Both equally prolific in resources for an abandoned naked person to exist...

Put a survival expert on one, and a complete novice on the other and setting aside the possibility of the novice starving to death and dieing via exposure etc.

How long would it take for the novice to acquire the skills of the expert ? Is there a natural order to this learning ability ?

necessity breeds invention yes ?...but would that only apply to someone with a knack for knowing a situation and resolving it adequately ?

Men are the same as women, just inside out !

Offline Karen W.

• "come fly with me"
    • View Profile
Re: The nature/science of learning a skill ?
« Reply #1 on: 06/08/2006 23:06:04 »
Wow, What are you thinking about today?? I have read that 4 times and still can't answer it with any surety! Wow!

Karen

another_someone

« Reply #2 on: 06/08/2006 23:13:53 »
I think it depends as much on the psyche and optimism/defeatism of the marooned person as it does upon the skills of the person.

George

Offline moonfire

• Neilep Level Member
  • Can't stand the heat, step away from the fire!
    • View Profile
    • http://www.m2global.com/stormdiamonds
« Reply #3 on: 07/08/2006 00:02:38 »
Neil do you have dreams being abandoned??

"Lo" Loretta

Offline neilep

• Withdrawnmist
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: 07/08/2006 00:14:42 »
quote:
Originally posted by moonfire

Neil do you have dreams being abandoned??

"Lo" Loretta

Your funny !!...:)

I suppose I am just interested in the nature of human stuff !!...at the same time I am just trying my best to ask different questions.....why they pop into my head I do not know .. !!