The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Palaeontology  (Read 6320 times)

Offline Zet

• First timers
    • View Profile
Palaeontology
« on: 13/08/2006 07:18:17 »
Hi everyone,
I'm a Geo student study at QUT, Brisbane, and have an assignment requiring me to research 5 significant fossil deposits with in 200km of Brisbane, Australia. I am having difficulty locating 5. Does anyone know of any? Or know an organisation or website which holds this kind of info?
I'd appreciate any help
Thank you muchly
Zet

Offline Karen W.

• Naked Science Forum GOD!
  • "come fly with me"
    • View Profile
Re: Palaeontology
« Reply #1 on: 13/08/2006 11:13:44 »
Austrailian fossil hold some of the worlds oldest forms of life known to man. You can find them in groups of rocks which are known as "EDIOCARIAN FORMATIONS." The lung fish is a Living fossil from the triassic castle. Thats as far as I could find tonight, maybe someone else has some more information.I found that on the web!

Karen

Offline Karen W.

• "come fly with me"
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 13/08/2006 11:37:21 »
check out www.micrrh.jcu.edu.au  
Then click on Remote Health Conference, Mt Isa, Queensland, Australia, there is some information there on fossils when you scroll down. It would be a good start point! There were alot more just placing Brisbane, fossil, deposits, Austrailia, or a combo of those into your browser!

Karen
« Last Edit: 13/08/2006 20:59:17 by Karen W. »

Offline JimBob

• Global Moderator
  • Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: 13/08/2006 17:22:56 »