The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Why are people left-handed?  (Read 2149 times)

Offline thedoc

• Forum Admin
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
Why are people left-handed?
« on: 23/04/2015 12:03:00 »
I am left handed and it is my understanding that a much smaller percentage of the population is left handed rather than right handed. I am wondering what role genetics plays in determining if a person is left or right handed and what role, if any, environment might have.
Asked by Michael Higgins

Visit the webpage for the podcast in which this question is answered.

...or Listen to the Answer or [download as MP3]

« Last Edit: 23/04/2015 12:03:00 by _system »

Offline A-Memo

• View Profile
Re: Why are people left-handed?
« Reply #1 on: 29/06/2014 05:46:16 »
Hello , am a medical student as i studied it there are two cerebral hemispheres in our brain , one of them contain the "wernick area" which is responsible for languae comprhension and "speech area" that are located in what is called the activated "dominant" hemisphere which is usualley the left hemisphere in majority of people , so people are right handed are because of activated or "dominant" hemisphere is left and left handed because of dominant hemisphere is the right one ;)

Offline alancalverd

• Global Moderator
  • Neilep Level Member
  • life is too short to drink instant coffee
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 29/06/2014 10:07:51 »
Whilst A-Memo's model makes some kind of sense, it doesn't explain all the statistics.