The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Can violence be managed medically?  (Read 2523 times)

Offline Jimbee

• View Profile
Can violence be managed medically?
« on: 12/08/2014 07:09:21 »
I have this medical theory of violence, that I have been sharing (first with snail mail) for about 10 years now, probably closer to 15 actually. I have in a form letter, making easier to share with many people. And as you will see, I am definitely in the right forum as I share it with you all. Please read:

"I have a theory on violence that I have been trying to share with others for the past 10 years or so. For this reason, I may have sent it to you in the past, and I definitely apologize if this is the case.

My theory is simply this: why can't we some day treat violence with a MEDICINE taken by the violent person? Of course, some might just chose to be evil. So it will need the full cooperation of the person being treated.

I think a medicine would have several advantages to it. For one, it would be much more effective that simple rehabilatative therapy the same way psychiatric drugs we now have are more effective then old talk methods. Also, we could come across a drug simply by accident--before we even fully understand how it works, as has been the case with many drugs. This is why I believe we should start looking for this drug now. And of course this drug would have the advantage of making violence less likely where the potential greatly exists--like prisons for example.

Of course this does bring up some moral questions, like "Who are we to judge other people's moral beliefs and dispostions?". And, of course, people use violence to protect themselves, so we don't want to turn people into defenseless sheep. For these reasons, the medicine could just be used voluntarily at first, I imagine. But I do think the good that it will provide will far outweigh any evil.