The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Ladders  (Read 10227 times)

Offline swalker

• View Profile
Ladders
« on: 08/09/2006 18:17:31 »
I am a firefighter with a practical knowledge of how ladders react at different angles; however I wonder if someone can give me some theory?

When the ladder is steeply pitched there is little load on the head and it moves easily. With a flat pitch the deflection increases, it is harder to move the head and if the head is resting on the rollers I worry about the heel kicking out.

How does the load on a ladder transfer to the head and the heel at different angles?

If, for example, there was a 100kg load in the middle of the ladder I presume that 100% of this would be on the heel with the ladder at 90 degrees (to horizontal) and 50% on the head and heel with the ladder at 0 degrees. What % would be on the head/heel at angles between these extremes?

If the rollers (at the head of the ladder) are on a vertical wall what determines the horizontal force causing the heel to slip out?

Thanks Steve

Offline neilep

• Withdrawnmist
  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
    • View Profile
Re: Ladders
« Reply #1 on: 08/09/2006 20:18:11 »
Steve,

First I want to WELCOME you to the site, Secondly, I personally can't help you but I am sure an answer will come, and THIRDLY...YOU guys are the greatest... !!!

You do an amazing job......YAYYYYYYYYYYYYYY !!

Men are the same as women, just inside out !

Offline syhprum

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 08/09/2006 20:29:16 »