The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Light and density of space  (Read 2186 times)

Offline mac_urban

• First timers
    • View Profile
Light and density of space
« on: 18/10/2014 22:53:33 »
Hello, its my first topic here. I'm not a scientist or even a student of physic, astronomy or cosmology but i have a question. Maybe it's a stupid question but I can't find an answer in the Internet (maybe it's because of my poor English skills I can't create a proper question for google. But here it is (don't laugh  [xx(]):

As far as i know light acts differently in different densities, and interplanetary/intersolar space is not a pure vacuum so how can we exactly measure the position of objects in space, or how far they are? Or maybe the refraction rate is too small and it's not take affect for  measurements.  But if light refracts for a really tiny angle so when it comes to light-years is object real position can be light-years from what i can actually see on sky?

Offline PmbPhy

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
Re: Light and density of space
« Reply #1 on: 18/10/2014 23:30:22 »
Quote from: mac_urban
As far as i know light acts differently in different densities, and interplanetary/intersolar space is not a pure vacuum so how can we exactly measure the position of objects in space, or how far they are? Or maybe the refraction rate is too small and it's not take affect for  measurements.  But if light refracts for a really tiny angle so when it comes to light-years is object real position can be light-years from what i can actually see on sky?
Welcome to the forum. Please don't worry about asking "stupid" questions. If you're truly sincere about the question that you're asking then by definition it's not stupid. :)