The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Can the Special Relativity Theory (E=MC²) work in reverse in a black hole?  (Read 2270 times)

Offline cmoreman

• First timers
    • View Profile
Can the Special Relativity Theory (E=MC2) work in reverse in a black hole? 

I’m an engineer not a physicist, but I've been wondering if Special Relativity could explain what may be happening in a Black Hole if allowed to work in reverse ( as an endothermic nuclear reaction).  I would appreciate if those of you, who know far more than I, could give me some feedback.

Background:  Normally as matter is drawn to an object due to gravitational forces, the temperature of the object will rise as the kinetic energy of arriving new matter is converted to random thermal energy as the new matter collides with the object.    This and other processes including nuclear fusion may raise the object’s temperature until the object is radiating sufficient energy to reach an overall thermal equilibrium.   This thermal energy causes particle motion within the object.  Since any particle motion acts to increase spacing between particles, this particle motion tends to limit the density and impose a minimum size of the object depending on its mass.

What if sufficiently dense objects did not follow the above pattern?    If an object is sufficiently dense could it reach a point of critical mass and density?   At this point, the object’s internal gravitational pull might increase to the point where thermal energy is not possible. What if the object experiences contraction forces due to gravitational pull, at a level where the normal thermal forces that cause particle motion (and the resulting limitation on density) are overwhelmed?   Could the particles within the object’s core become so compressed that thermal motion is no longer possible?