The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Should I study geology in university?  (Read 7248 times)

Offline Onmop

• First timers
    • View Profile
Should I study geology in university?
« on: 27/12/2014 12:55:21 »
Hi, I'm new to the forum :)

I'm in my last year of high school and I'm seriously considering studying geology in university. I've read a lot about the subject and job prospects / opportunities, and right now I can't really imagine doing anything else. I love to be outdoors and I can't imagine myself sitting in an office all day. I also love science, I'm just bad at math. :P

My reasons for going into geology would be:

- I love to be outdoors
- I love science, and to learn about the Earth
- I want a career where I can travel a lot, discover exoctic places and / or work internationally and in different countries
- Seems like a good major with all the field trips, and I've read that the job prospects for geologist are good.

My reasons for NOT going into geology:

- I'm not obsessed per se with rocks, volcanoes or earthquakes, though I do find them interesting (never really learned about it in school though)
- Ending up being stuck on an oil rig or with an office job I don't like
- If I wanted to start a family, travel could possibly get in the way
- Too much math for my liking

If possible, I would want to study in a foreign (preferably english speaking) country like USA, Canada, Australia or New Zealand. Is there any specific country you would recommend?

So, do you think I should pursue the major or does it not fit me? I really want some answers because there are almost no geology forums on the internet and I don't know who else to ask...
If you need more information, just tell me.
Thanks a lot in advance!!

Offline alancalverd

• Global Moderator
  • Neilep Level Member
  • life is too short to drink instant coffee
    • View Profile
Re: Should I study geology in university?
« Reply #1 on: 27/12/2014 15:26:57 »