The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: How long does it take to process what we see?  (Read 3422 times)

Offline Confused Robot

• First timers
    • View Profile
How long does it take to process what we see?
« on: 11/01/2015 06:50:38 »
Hi Everyone,
I'm new to this kinda thing and was just wondering how long it would take for the brain to process a room?
Sorry if that's vague, I mean I've looked at a couple of reports. The latest says that it takes only 13 milliseconds ( newbielink:http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-2542583/Scientists-record-fastest-time-human-image-takes-just-13-milliseconds.html [nonactive]), but that is just for an image so I'm not sure.
Others say it is 80 milliseconds for the brain to fully understand what it is looking at; newbielink:http://blogs.scientificamerican.com/observations/2011/09/15/time-on-the-brain-how-you-are-always-living-in-the-past-and-other-quirks-of-perception/ [nonactive]
Hence why I'm confused. Thanks to anyone who can help me with this, it is much appreciated.
Regards,
Confused Robot

Offline CliffordK

• Neilep Level Member
  • Site Moderator
    • View Profile
Re: How long does it take to process what we see?
« Reply #1 on: 11/01/2015 08:37:20 »
There are a number of different tasks that one might ask a subject to do.

Say I tell you to press a key every time the letter A appears.

Then if I present a bunch of images of a cow, dog, cat, the letter A, tree, etc...  Then it may not take much for you to respond positively for the letter A, even if you have several other non-letter images given to you in rapid succession (or the A was only presented briefly).