The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Trauma and Early Brain Development  (Read 2899 times)

Offline LHemisphere

• First timers
    • View Profile
Trauma and Early Brain Development
« on: 14/10/2006 02:47:56 »
I'm not a scientist. I searched for this site - or something like it hoping that someone on here can help me find answers.
There seems to be more and more research happening in the area of early brain development and the effect that chronic exposure to trauma (abuse). What I can't find is research that has used adults who were chronically abused as children, received no treatment and left to try to function as best they could. I need to find out if anyone is aware of this kind of study taking place and where. I'm also curious as to how a scientist or clinician chooses an area to research, how grants or funding is received and so on.
Anyone's help would be very much appreciated.

"Our brains are sculpted by our early experiences. Maltreatment is a chisel that shapes a brain to contend with strife, but at the cost of deep, enduring wounds."
              --Teicher, 2000,

Offline Zoey

• View Profile
    • http://www.indiana.edu/~pietsch/#special
Re: Trauma and Early Brain Development
« Reply #1 on: 15/10/2006 05:58:46 »
Try a google search on "post traumatic stress" "amygdala"
Zoey

Offline Gaia

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 15/10/2006 16:05:55 »
Although not exactly what you were asking, there is another interesting angle to your question.