The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: How can persistent viral infections be best treated or managed?  (Read 928 times)

Offline Promilla

• View Profile
Hi there!
So I am an immunology student and so I took as a challenge to come up (at least theoretically) with a way to get rid of a very stubborn, persistent virus I've had for up to 7 years now.
I am talking about HPV (don;t know which type exactly). One of the types that is causing flat warts.
As the infection is persistent, I can assume that my immune system will not take care of it anytime soon. Cryo-therapy is also out of question as they are very small and spread all around arms and face...
So. I was wondering. We probably cannot use any of the cytokines which would normally be used in a viral infection as it would most likely cause systemic response (unless injected directly into the region where the warts are? any thoughts?). Plus I think cytokines are expensive and hard to get to.  :D
My idea was to try using monoclonar antibodies specific for the type of HPV I have? Would it be possible? And most importantly would it work? I mean, they would perhaps mediate the ADCC and perhaps opsonize infected cells? Any thoughts?I guess there might be a problem with getting these types of antibodies? But theoretically, would it be possible to raise them?
I am hoping to get some smart people correcting me and perhaps throwing some interesting thoughts on this immunology issue!
« Last Edit: 03/05/2015 21:01:30 by chris »

Offline chris

• Neilep Level Member
  • The Naked Scientist
    • View Profile
    • The Naked Scientists