The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Why do I cry when I play music?  (Read 3884 times)

Offline thedoc

• Forum Admin
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
Why do I cry when I play music?
« on: 15/05/2015 02:50:01 »
Furqon Alam asked the Naked Scientists:

I compose music as a hobby.

My problem is whenever i compose music, whether i am playing it on piano or guitar or violin, my eyes water up. It is very disturbing. People around me even think that i am crying, which is definitely not the case, because i don't feel like crying, it just pours from my eyes.

This is not occasional, it happens every-time i compose or play something new, something from heart, during the creation process.

I am not an emotional person, i am a day trader at stock exchange. And this tear build up happens only when I am composing music.

I want to know why and whether anything is wrong?

What do you think?
« Last Edit: 15/05/2015 02:50:01 by _system »

Offline jccc

• View Profile
Re: Why do I cry when I play music?
« Reply #1 on: 15/05/2015 04:15:46 »
maybe last life you were a great musician, but no one agree with you.

Offline RD

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 15/05/2015 05:29:48 »
...  whenever i compose music, whether i am playing it on piano or guitar or violin, my eyes water up. It is very disturbing. People around me even think that i am crying, which is definitely not the case, because i don't feel like crying, it just pours from my eyes.

Tears of Joy ?

Tearing is a way of visually & chemically-signalling our mood to others.

Offline Colin2B

• Global Moderator
  • Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: 15/05/2015 07:29:42 »
Furqon Alam asked the Naked Scientists:

People around me even think that i am crying, which is definitely not the case, because i don't feel like crying, it just pours from my eyes.