The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: What is science fact, not fiction?  (Read 13286 times)

Offline Thebox

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
What is science fact, not fiction?
« on: 24/05/2015 23:28:18 »
Hello all, I though this would be the correct section to start a science fact thread of Physics.

I am not a scientist and wondered if some kind Physicists could post a list of all true Physical facts, the facts that have factual evidence to back it up.

I will start with a few I do know, please correct me if I state fact that is not fact.

1)gravity exists

2)matter  exists

3)force exists

4)energy exists

5)space exists

6)atoms exist

anything to add please?

and could we remove 1 and 2 from the list , gravity being a force and matter being atoms?

« Last Edit: 25/05/2015 11:13:27 by chris »

Offline alancalverd

• Global Moderator
  • Neilep Level Member
  • life is too short to drink instant coffee
    • View Profile
Re: science fact not fiction
« Reply #1 on: 24/05/2015 23:37:28 »
The universe exists and we observe stuff happening. We invent very precise concepts (like gravity) and parameters (like force) to help us predict what will happen next. And some of us get very annoyed when others misuse our precise language and ignore the obvious.

Offline Thebox

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 24/05/2015 23:52:01 »
The universe exists and we observe stuff happening. We invent very precise concepts (like gravity) and parameters (like force) to help us predict what will happen next. And some of us get very annoyed when others misuse our precise language and ignore the obvious.

Firstly I was generalising factual topics, gravity comes under force?  matter is made of atoms.

1)force exists

2)energy exists

3)space exists

4)atoms exist

is there any other facts in generalisation of things?

added - force can not exist by itself?

so....

1)energy exists

2)space exists

3)atoms exist