The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Bone Marrow Donation  (Read 7503 times)

Offline tweener

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
Bone Marrow Donation
« on: 13/01/2004 17:31:06 »
I've been considering signing up to be a bone marrow donor.  Does anyone have any experience or comments to share about this?

----
John

Offline bezoar

• View Profile
Re: Bone Marrow Donation
« Reply #1 on: 14/01/2004 14:02:30 »
I looked into it once.  Apparently they draw some blood samples and type you, and they you go on a list, and if you're a match for anyone, they call you.  The donation itself requires a hospital visit.  I remember back in the dark ages when I was a young student nurse, then obtaining a bone marrow specimen through the sternum (breastbone) and it was excruciatingly painful.  I think now though, anesthesia is better and you'd just be sore for a while.

Bezoar

Offline chris

• Neilep Level Member
  • The Naked Scientist
    • View Profile
    • The Naked Scientists
« Reply #2 on: 15/01/2004 00:31:28 »
Just to endorse what Bezoar has said, you can be typed on the basis of a small blood donation (your DNA is extracted from the white cells in the sample). Your details are then entered into a (international) database.

Should someone in the future be a close match for you, your details are retrieved from the database and you are asked whether you might be willing to provide a sample of marrow. The donor and the recipient remain anonymous (unless they know each other of course, as in the case of a sibling donation).

How you actually give the marrow is another matter. Historically marrow in-situ was sucked out by introducing a big trochar into the pelvis and sucking out the cells with a syringe. As you can imagine, boring into your bones with a trochar is extremely painful and usually requires a general anaesthetic.