The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Can you answer these questions about hand washing?  (Read 1045 times)

Offline thedoc

• Forum Admin
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
Christina Simon  asked the Naked Scientists:

I would like to start off by saying that I am a High School student seeking answers for my project! Your taking your time to read this means more than anything as I am having trouble finding the answers I seek. I appreciate your time. I need these answers by Monday if you are all right with that.

As of late, I have been doing a project on soap versus sanitizer. I see, and have been in, arguments about whether sanitizer is safer or soap is safer as far as a method of washing our hands and keeping clean to prevent sickness. I was hoping you could have some answers to the following questions that would assist in finding my solution. If you could answer the questions for me, that would be more than helpful! My goal is to provide people with information proving which of the two methods is a safer way of keeping from illness.

1.) Which is more effective? Soap or Sanitizer?
2.) Why did you pick this method?
3.) What does this method do differently that the other does not?
4.)Which method has the healthiest ingredients? (It's said that sanitizer is chock full of chemicals and works like a disinfectant. Is this true?)
5.)Some have theorized that two squirts of sanitizer will cover that missed 0.01% that sanitizers claim to kill 99.9%. Is this true?
6.) Do sanitizers really kill 99.9% of germs? Or is this a claim? (Have there been experiments showing this and if so what were they/what were the results?)
7.) What brands of the preferred method is most effective in killing germs and bacteria?