The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: How can I create a coppered patina?  (Read 3978 times)

Offline element79

• First timers
    • View Profile
How can I create a coppered patina?
« on: 30/09/2015 10:04:16 »
Dear Scientists,

I'm an artist. I'm trying to make my own paints/solutions and effects on an array of different objects.
I've been lucky enough to have used an iron based paint which a friend made, which i then coppered with a liquid solution of copper and ammonia i assume, but he would never tell me the mixture ;)
So i thought i'd try and simulate his rust mix myself.
I've painted my object with the iron paint, and now i'd like to copper it.
I realise using chemicals can be very dangerous, so i wanted some professional advise first.
If I collect some copper fillings and as awful as it sounds mix them with my urine, will this explode? Or what about powdered peroxide instead of urine?
I'm hoping to create a red oxide/rust effect.

All advice very much appreciated.

Many thanks

Catherine

« Last Edit: 30/09/2015 11:12:33 by chris »

Offline MrDooley

• First timers
    • View Profile
Re: How can I create a coppered patina?
« Reply #1 on: 30/09/2015 11:58:06 »
Gosh, couldn't you just put it on the roof? How soon do you need it done?

Offline ProjectSailor

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 30/09/2015 13:41:41 »
Playing with chemicals can be quite dangerous, but stick to household stuff and in clear air in not great quantities.. and you will be fine.. just avoid any fumes! and always do a brief risk assessment.. (i.e. are my children/pets locked away, area clear of flammables, nothing i dont want stained nearby..)

Unfortunately copper and pee remains just that.. a bit of copper in a puddle of wee..