The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: REINCARNATION- what's it all about eh ?  (Read 15436 times)

Offline neilep

• Withdrawnmist
  • Naked Science Forum GOD!
    • View Profile
REINCARNATION- what's it all about eh ?
« on: 26/01/2004 19:53:58 »
I have a problem with people who believe in reincarnation.....if they can sometimes under hypnosis regress to an earlier life , then is is possible that they could be regressed far enough to start acting like apes, chimps etc etc ?.......also, if reincarnation does exist then where do all the extra people come from ?, if we all come back as someone else then how do you account for the rise in poplulation ? I would welcome any thoughts on my comments.......please note I am a complete novice and if my thoughts demonstrate complete and total naivety then that's correct, I'm a layman to say the least !!

Offline bezoar

• View Profile
Re: REINCARNATION- what's it all about eh ?
« Reply #1 on: 27/01/2004 01:15:57 »
I studied all this a long time ago.  Apparently, you go to a state between lives where you get to review your life, and choose the circumstances in which you'll be reborn according to what lessons you need to learn.  So there's another plane, and some feel, life on other planets and in other dimensions, so there's lots of room for all those extra people.  I suppose, if we evolved from apes, then we could be regressed that far back.  One school of thought thinks that with each incarnation, your spirit ascends, therefore, if you were a cat before, you won't be a cat ever again.  Another school of thought believes once a human, always a human.  Some very educated scholars believe in reincarnation.  I believe Ben Franklin did.  I suppose every one has to find a belief system that works for them.

Offline neilep

• Withdrawnmist
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 27/01/2004 01:44:51 »