The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: The Speed Of Light  (Read 7433 times)

Offline SteveW

• First timers
    • View Profile
The Speed Of Light
« on: 10/01/2007 23:00:27 »
My question is this. As I understand things, when the big bang happened, time started, and everything started to move away from that central point. Why is it then that we can look back in time to a period close to the big bang. Surely we would have to be moving away from the big bang at faster than the speed of light to do this? I thought that this was impossible! I can understand that when looking at distant objects we see them at a time in the past, but, surely as they came from the same origin as us then there must even be a limit to this.
I am not a scientist, so please try not to confuse me.

Offline ukmicky

• Neilep Level Member
    • View Profile
    • http://www.space-talk.com/
The Speed Of Light
« Reply #1 on: 11/01/2007 01:40:54 »
Hi steve welcome to the forum. Some people believe that space expanded from one pont others believe that the big bang happened everywhere in an already infinate universe.

But to answer you question yes space has and still is expanded faster than the speed of light and in fact the rate of expansion is believed to be speeding up.

Offline Pentcho Valev

• View Profile
The Speed Of Light
« Reply #2 on: 11/02/2007 09:41:10 »
EINSTEIN'S SECOND LAW

http://www.physicstoday.org/vol-60/iss-1/12_2.html :