The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Teleportation  (Read 11385 times)

Offline Whitestar

• First timers
    • View Profile
Teleportation
« on: 11/02/2004 04:42:17 »
Hi everybody.

I have always been intrigued by the concept of teleportation and with the recent advances in quantum teleportation at the University of Innsbruck, the results are encouraging. However, it should be noted that this form of teleportation doesn't allow physicists to teleport the photon itself--only its properties to another, remote photon. Here is the site:

newbielink:http://www.aip.org/physnews/graphics/html/teleport.htm [nonactive]

I'm an aspiring science fiction writer and what I want to do in my story is achieve teleportation by actually teleporting the people themselves, not their properties. So, I began thinking about how I was going to do that. I thought about creating a teleporter that works by converting matter into energy and reconverting the energy back into matter and being able to pass through walls and ceilings, sort of like radio signals.

The thing that concerns me about this concept has some philosophical issues to address.

1) For starters, does conversion of matter into energy and vice-versa in this case imply the person undergoing the process has ceased to exist, only to be replaced by a replica who was literally born into existence once the energy was reconverted back into matter?

2) What other theories or ideas can I use for my story?

Whitestar

Offline Ylide

• View Profile
    • http://clem.mscd.edu/~mogavero
Re: Teleportation
« Reply #1 on: 11/02/2004 08:55:34 »
Hi whitestar, welcome to the forums.  

Teleportation is a cool theory and I think something we may eventually be able to do, but there are some criteria that must be met before we can.  (probably take 500-1000 years or so before we get there)