The Naked Scientists

The Naked Scientists Forum

Author Topic: Any experience with emergency vehicle starters?  (Read 1489 times)

Offline Atomic-S

• View Profile
Any experience with emergency vehicle starters?
« on: 06/01/2016 05:45:10 »
I have been considering getting, for my vehicle, one of these portable power packs that can start the vehicle in the event of battery failure and can provide power for other purposes, and which are typically powered by a lithium-ion battery. I have no experience with them, and the information available from certain vendors is sketchy, leaving unanswered questions. Among these: Prices vary, but it is unclear just what all one gives up for a lower price.  Such as longevity. How long can these units  be expected to last until they would have to be replaced? 

Offline chris

• Neilep Level Member
  • The Naked Scientist
    • View Profile
    • The Naked Scientists
Re: Any experience with emergency vehicle starters?
« Reply #1 on: 06/01/2016 08:37:10 »
I have been quite sceptical of these gadgets prior to now, although admittedly I have never actually done the maths to work out what might or might not be achieveable with them.

My understanding is that they plug into the cigarette lighter / power socket in the car and top up the battery.

The max rated current through the power socket (roughly) is 10 amps. P=VI, so 12 x 10 = 120 J/s or 120W.

The starter motor of a car engine pulls 100-200 amps. Let's assume the engine needs a 5 second crank in the cold to make it start: that's 200 amps x 12 volts x 5 seconds = 12000 joules.

At 120W power delivery from the top-up charger, that's 12000 joules /120 joules/second = 100 seconds to return the energy from a single starting crank, which sounds reasonable.

But these products are usually marketed as rescue packs to get you going when you've left the lights on on and pancaked the battery. They often say they can "restore a flat battery in 15 minutes". So let's examine that: